To Mom

Moms. We literally would not be here without them. Let me take a moment to tell you about my mom. 

To Mom,

Proverbs 22:6 tells us that if we “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” I don’t think that I would have ever understood this if not for my mother. 

I grew up with a dad who wasn’t a Christian and so that made having a spiritual life difficult. Church was obviously never a priority for him and so my mom did what she could to get us involved in Church. She faithfully got us there Sunday after Sunday and even made sure that we were involved in AWANA and youth group. She took the time to homeschool us and give us a good biblical education even in the face of my dad’s disapproval. She didn’t have to do that. She could have given in to his pressure and not let us go to church. But she didn’t. She held fast to the same savior she wanted me to hold fast to.

My mom fought tooth and nail to make sure that her three kids knew about Jesus Christ and did what she had to in order for us to be committed followers of Jesus. Even when I rebelled against her she continued to pray and continued to train me.

I stand here today because of the faithfulness of Jesus Christ to my family. But I also stand here today because of the prayers and dedication of my mother. I stand here today committed to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ because of the passionate pursuit my mom had for Jesus. The same pursuit that she wanted us to have. I stand here today, a follower of Jesus, because my mom took the time, and through the fighting, and the tears, and the prayers of my faithful mom, I stand here committed to Jesus Christ.

So I say this.

Thank You, Mom! Thank you, for praying for me. Thank you, for being committed to my spiritual maturation and walk with Christ. Thank you, for not giving up on me when I rebelled against you. Thank you, for training me up in the way that I should go.

Love,

Daniel

 

One thought on “To Mom

  1. A very loving tribute to your very special mother! Michelle is an extraordinary woman in every way, but especially as a mother. Michelle, Thank you for the fine example you have presented to your children and their peers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

